homemade, tasty eat

Tasty Bake: Blueberry Clafoutis

As yesterday was Pancake Day, I decided that making pancakes was far too dull, so I gathered the basic pancake ingredients and made a clafoutis instead. A clafoutis is a French dish which isn’t as fancy as the name suggests. It’s simply a batter poured over fruit and then baked. The dessert typically uses cherries (found out that when other kinds of fruit are used instead of cherries, the dish is actually called a flaugnarde!) but as my husband doesn’t like cherries, I use blueberries. Other soft fruits can also be used – plums or apricots would be delicious. Below is the super easy recipe for the blueberry clafoutis in my scribbling. I love eating it when it’s cooled with a dollop of creme fraiche. Enjoy!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Tasty Bake: Blueberry Clafoutis

  1. A few years ago I discovered that my Gran’s (insert fruit of choice) batter pud was a clafoutis!
    I always thought it was her variation on a Yorkshire pud for desert and to use up the fruit she grew in her garden.

    Still love it though… served sprinkled with brown sugar and knob of butter 🙂
    Celia
    x

Leave a Reply

